Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections
 

Pharmacy Subject Guide
Pharmacy Affiliate Faculty, your resources are located here

 

This webpage lists a variety of resources for general pharmacy information. For more resources on a specific topic, choose a topic from the list. For more resources relevant to a specific concentration, choose a concentration from the list. For the general resources, click on a link above, or scroll down the page.

Choose a Topic:

For more in depth help on a topic, or for help with a topic not listed here, contact the Drug Information Center at (615) 460-6531

Concentrations

 

General Drug Information

These resources provide information on specific drugs including adverse events, availability, drug interactions, dosage and administration, indication, patient information, product identification, warnings and precautions, etc.

Clinical Pharmacology - Clinical Pharmacology is the primary drug information and medication management resource of the majority of the country's largest retail pharmacy chains and consultant pharmacy corporations, many U.S. pharmacy and medical schools, and well-known health information websites. It provides content and tools for the following areas: monographs, drug class overviews, search capabilities, reports, product indentification, product information, patient education and IV compatibility (by Trissel's).

Facts & Comparisons - Facts & Comparisons 4.0 provides the most up-to-date drug information, backed by more than 60 years of editorial expertise. It includes access to Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, and more. It also provides access to clinical calculators, black box warnings, medication guides, and information on orphan drugs.

Micromedex (username: belmont password: 9ACDMDX) - Micromedex is unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine. This includes information on critical emergency, acute care and disease data as well as scientifically sound alternative medicine information.

Lexi-Comp & AHFS - Lexi-Comp provides information on drug and drug interactions, drug allergies, drug therapy duplication, drug dose checking, diagnosis and disease management, formulary services, patient education, and clinical support. The monographs available include more than 50 fields of pharmacology detail, including point-of-care pharmacology, dosing, warnings, adverse reactions, i.v. comatibility, drug identification, poisining and toxicology, and lab & diagnostic information.

Additional Links - These websites are for supplementary information only and should not be considered first-line sources for information.

 

Finding Journal Articles

If you are looking for a journal article, one of these resources would be the best place to start.

MEDLINE - MEDLINE is a collection of 11.8 million citations for articles from international biomedical journals from 1966 to the present. Limited full-text articles are available through this database. For help searching this database or obtaining the full text of articles, contact Jenny Rushing (jenny.rushing@belmont.edu or 460-5498). Click here for a short MEDLINE tutorial

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) - IPA is a collection of abstracts from the world pharmacy literature, including related health, medical cosemetic and stat pharmacy journals. It also includes abstracts of major pharmacy meeting presentations. More than 10,000 references to alternative and herbal medicine are also included. Coverage dates back to 1970. Full-text articles are not available through this resource; it provides abstracts only. For assistance in obtaining full-text articles, please contact the Reference desk.

Iowa Drug Information Service (IDIS) (click "Login" - no username or password required) - IDIS provides full-text articles from 200 peer-reviewed, English language medical and pharmaceutical journals. It offers articles on a variety of subjects, including pharmacy and pharmacology, general and internal medicine, infectious disease and immunology, transplant, cardiovascular, rheumatology, microbiology, geriatrics, and endocrinology. It dates back to 1966, and focuses on articles that pertain to drug use in humans.

SciFinder Scholar (registration required, click for instructions) - SciFinder Scholar provides access to a wide selection of research from many disciplines, includeing biomedical sciences, chemistry and more. There are references from more than 10,000 current journals and patents from many patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar is also searchable by chemical structure, biological sequence, substructure and reaction.

Haveing trouble finding full text? Try our tutorial - Finding Full Text. If you still have trouble, contact Jenny Rushing (jenny.rushing@belmont.edu)

eBooks

These are electronic books that are available online, 24-7. You can access these books from anywhere you can get online.

Lexi-Comp & AHFS - Lexi-Comp provides information ondrug and drug interactions, drug allergies, drug therapy duplication, drug dose checking, diagnosis and disease management, formulary services, patient education, and clinical support. The monographs available include more than 50 fields of pharmacology detail, including point-of-care pharmacology, dosing, warnings, adverse reactions, i.v. comatibility, drug identification, poisining and toxicology, and lab & diagnostic information.

Natural Medicines (login instructions) - Natural Medicines is a highly objective, evidence-based resource designed for healthcare professionals. It is recognized as the gold standard for evidence-based information on natural medicines. It provides the most comprehensive listing of brand name product ingredients, as well as a natural product/drug interaction checker and a natural product effectiveness checker.

Natural Standard - Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that provides high quality, evidence-based , peer-reviewed information about complementary and alternative therapies. It includes information on foods, herbs and supplements, health & wellness (diet and fitness programs), medical conditions, brand names and many other resources. Natural Standard is not supported by any interested groups, professional organizations, or product manufacturer.

Stat!Ref ebooks - Stat!Ref is a selection of pharmacy and general/sepcialty medical reference books such as Goodman & Gilman, ACP Medicine, and Harrison's Internal Medicine that can be searched individually or as a group. A complete list of titles is available here. Please keep in mind that access is limited to a few users at a time. If you are turned away, please try again later.

 

Finding Journals

If you have the citation for a journal article, or if you have a specific journal in mind, and you want to know if it is avaiable in the Lila D Bunch Library, choose one of the options below. To find a specific journal article, see the section on finding journal articles.

Library Catalog Search (by journal title)

Electronic Journal Search

Interlibrary Loan
Can't find the full text of the article you need? Have you checked for the article in all possible formats: print, electronic and microfilm or microfiche? If we still don't have it, request the article through ILLiad, our online interlibrary loan system. Click here to watch a short tutorial on ILLiad

 

Selected Websites

These websites have been chosen because they provide unbiased information or standards of practice from government agencies or national organizations.

Centers for Disease Control

Food and Drug Administration

Institute for Safe Medication Practices

The Joint Commission

Pharmacist's Letter (login instructions) - Pharmacist's Letter is a services for pharmacists that covers new developments in drug therapy and trends in pharmacy practice. It provides very short updates and advice. It is completely independent, with no connections to any pharmaceutical firms, and does not accept advertising. It's goal is to provide totally objective and unbiased data and advice related to drug therapy.

Tennessee Board of Pharmacy

U.S. Pharmacopeia

U.S. Pharmacist

Downloadable Resources - several of the subscription databases offer downloadable versions for your PDA.


Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782