Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections

Chemistry & Physics Research Guide

Databases

Biochemical Journal search or browse for articles from 1906 to 2005 in this refereed journal.

ChemIDplus Structure and nomenclature information for substances cited in National Library of Medicine databases.

EBSCOhost Electronic Journals Search for articles

Expanded Academic ASAP Search for articles

NetLibrary (Ebook collection)

NIST Data Gateway Provides access to scientific and technical data from the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). Search by property, substance, or keyword

ProQuest Search for articles

PubChem is from the National Library of Medicine. Search for chemical compounds and substances.

Science Direct - access over one million articles on subjects in the Health & Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social & Behavioral Sciences.

Scientific American Archive Online - Access the entire editorial content of Scientific American , Scientific American Mind , and all special issues from January 1993 to the present.

SciFinder Scholar (registration required, click for instructions) - SciFinder Scholar provides access to a wide selection of research from many disciplines, includeing biomedical sciences, chemistry and more. There are references from more than 10,000 current journals and patents from many patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar is also searchable by chemical structure, biological sequence, substructure and reaction.

Selected Reference Works

Encyclopedia of Physics   Ref QC5 .R596 2004   

Handbook of Chemistry and Physics   Ref QD65 .H3 (2000/01)   

Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry   Ref QD4 .M33 1997   

Oxford Reference Online - Sciences

The Penguin Dictionary of Chemistry   Ref QD5 .M522 2003   

LC Call Numbers

Q--Science
QC--Physics
QD--Chemistry

Selected Websites

arXiv.orgPhysics, Mathematics, Computer Science and Quantitative Biology (E-prints) from Cornell University
Librarians' Index to the Internet: Science
ChemFinder Provides basic physical property information and links to other sites that have additional information.
ChemInfo Indiana University
Distillations a weekly podcast on the past, present, and future of chemistry, with interviews, features, commentaries, reviews, and the Element of the Week.
eMolecules search for molecules by drawing the chemical structure
PhysicsWeb
PhysLINK.com
Public Library of Science
Resources in Physics Special Library Association

Contact the Librarian

Dawn Stephen

Phone: 615-460-5496
Email: dawn.stephen@belmont.edu

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8am - 4:30pm

Other hours available by appointment

Add me to your buddy list!

AIM: bunchlibrary1
Hotmail: bunchlibrary1@hotmail.com
Gmail: bunchlibrary@gmail.com

Email addresses listed above are not monitored for emails.

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782