Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections

Business Subject Guide

Back to Business

U.S. Companies

 

Company Directories Private Companies
Company Background Rankings & Market Share
Public Companies Locating Articles
   Annual Reports & SEC Filings Locating books-CUB Cat
   Financial Snapshots  
   Stock Prices  
   Investment Analysts' Reports  

 

Company Directories

ReferenceUSA Belmont Subscription Database
Research database of 14 million businesses and employers. Search for employers/positions by job skills, location, industry, and more.  Direct links to company web sites and contact names.

SuperPages.com <http://www.bigyellow.com/>
A searchable index of 13 million U.S. businesses with address, maps, and driving directions. Drawn from telephone book yellow pages.

ThomasNet <http://www.thomasnet.com/>
The online version of Thomas' Register of American Manufacturers (Ref.T12.T612), a directory of products and their manufacturers. Emphasis is on industrial products.

 

Company Background

Hoover's Company Reports (Belmont subscription database)
Provides corporate data, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Search by company name or ticker symbol.

International directory of company histories Ref HD2721.D36
An encyclopedia covering the history and development of the world's companies, leaders in their industry or geographical location with at least $50 million in sales. Includes both public and private U.S. and international corporations. Most histories are 3-4 pages in length. The latest volume of the set has a cumulative index to all previous volumes.

Top of Page

 

Public Companies: Annual Reports & SEC Filings

EDGAR Database of Corporate Information <http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml>
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission's collection of corporate financial statements as filed by U.S. public corporations beginning in 1994/96, are found here. Includes a full-text searchable index. No annual shareholder reports , but 10K, 10Q, and many other financial disclosure documents are included.

LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subscription database)
Search the Business/Company Information/SEC Filings & Reports section of this database for annual reports and SEC filings of U.S. corporations. Reports cover 1987 to date.

Top of page

Public Companies: Financial Snapshots

Hoover's Company Reports (ProQuest)
Provides corporate data, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more. Search by company name or ticker symbol.

LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subscription database)
Search the Business/Company Information section. Includes reports from Hoover's, Standard & Poor's, and more.

Value Line Investment Survey
a comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Has 3 parts:

The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. For detailed information, please click on EDUCATION and go to either "How to Invest in Common Stocks" or the "Quick Study Guide."

The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics.

The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics

 

Public Companies: Stock Prices

Big Charts <http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/historical/>
Has historical daily stock prices--high, low, opening, and closing--from January 1970 to date, plus price charts for currently listed corporations. Search by ticker symbol only. Other current stock price data and charts also found here.

Top of page

 

Public Companies: Investment Analysts' Reports

Morningstar.com (Belmont subscription database)
In addition to mutual funds, analyzes and reports on 1500 stocks. Information includes charts, key ratios and financial data for the past 10 years, insider transactions, analyst research, and more.

Value Line Investment Survey
a comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Has 3 parts:

The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. For detailed information, please click on EDUCATION and go to either "How to Invest in Common Stocks" or the "Quick Study Guide."

The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics.

The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics

 

Private Companies

Privately held companies do not sell shares of stock to the public and are not listed on stock exchanges. As a result they are not required to file financial disclosure reports with the SEC nor do they publish annual stockholder reports. As a result, far less information is likely to be available about a privately held company.

You should, however, use the sources suggested in this guide to check the company's listing in business directories, read any background information available, look for a company webpage (if available), and search thoroughly for periodical and newspaper articles about the company. If information about the company is limited, supplement it with information about its industry (see the Industries guide for suggestions.)

Top of page

 

Rankings & Market Share

Fortune 500 <http://www.fortune.com/>
Fortune magazine's annual 500 list and the Global 500 list are available plus several other Fortune lists that rank or compare corporations.

Market Share Reporter Ref HF5410.M35 2006
Collection of market share data from a variety of periodicals for brands, products, and companies. Arranged by industry categories with a subject index.

 

Locating Articles

ABI/Inform (ProQuest) (Belmont subsription database)
Index to and some full-text of selected journal and magazine articles in the field of business.

Business File ASAP (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.

Business File International (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.

LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subsription database)
Search both the News and the Business sections of this database for the full text of articles from a variety of sources about U.S. corporations.

 

Top of page

   

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782