Business Subject Guide
Economics & Economic Data
Biographies of economists
Who's who in economics: a biographical dictionary of major economists, 1700-1986. Ref HB76 .W47 1986
An eponymous dictionary of economics : a guide to laws and theorems named after economists. Ref HB61 .E66 2004
Portraits of Economists <http://www.econ.duke.edu/Economists/>
From Duke University, free use of this collection of portraits of 50 great economists for educational purposes is encouraged.
Comprehensive Statistical Sources
Business Statistics of the United States. Ref HC101.A13
Covers GDP, consumer spending and prices, employment and earnings, money, foreign trade, and various industries.
EconData.net <http://www.econdata.net/>
Designed to help researchers gain access to state socioeconomic data. Aims to be a convenient, comprehensive first stop for anyone searching public and private data sources on the Web.
FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research <http://fraser.stlouisfed.org/>
For the researcher, access to standard U.S. economic data sets dating from 1900 onward.
FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data <http://research.stlouisfed.org/fred/>
Provides historical data sets for U.S. economic indicators gathered by the Federal Reserve banks. Includes daily interest rates, monetary indicators, balance of payments, etc.
FedStats.gov <http://www.fedstats.gov/>
Easy A-Z access to statistical data on many topics, including business and economics, collected from over 70 federal agencies.
Handbook of International Economic Statistics. Ref HA155.U54
From the Central Intelligence Agency
LexisNexis Statistical (Belmont subscription database)
Index, abstracts, and selected full-text of federal statistical publications.
National Trade Data Bank w/ STAT-USA (Belmont subscription database)
Provides current economic data and news through "State of the Nation" and international trade information through "Globus/National Trade Data Bank."
Regional Accounts Data <http://www.bea.gov/bea/regional/data.htm>
From the Bureau of Economic Analysis, provides data for gross state product, and state and local population, personal income and per capita personal income from 1969-2003.
Statistical Abstract of the United States <http://www.census.gov/stat_abstract/>
Also Ref HA 202
A top source of statistical information of all kinds, this annual publication contains data from both the federal government and many private organizations. Check the table footnotes for publications where additional information can be found.
Tennessee Statistical Abstract <http://bus.utk.edu/cber/tsa/tsa03/tsa03.htm>
Also Ref HA641.T43
Primary source of Tennessee statistics, it provides a demographic, social, economic, and industrial profile of the state and its counties.
Tennessee Economic Development Center <http://www.tnecd.net/prospect/cprof.htm>
For each of Tennessee's counties, provides basic demographic and economic data, a list of major employers, local tax rates, utility and transportation facilities.
U.S. Bureau of the Census <http://www.census.gov/>
Primary source of official U.S. statistical data. Based on population census taken every 10 years and economic census every 5 years. In intervening years, additional specialized studies and surveys are conducted. Data covers the entire U.S., states, counties, Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA's), or cities.
Economic Forecasts
Congressional Budget Office <http://www.cbo.gov/>
Provides annual economic and federal budget projections for 8-10 years.
Economic Indicators
Economic Indicators <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/indicators/>
Browse or search this monthly publication with charts and tables covering standard economic indicators. Data are provided annually, monthly, and quarterly.
Economic Report of the President <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/eop/>
Also Ref HC106.6.A272
This annual economic review, prepared by the U. S. Council of Economic Advisors, contains an appendix of major economic indicators.
Economic Statistics Briefing Room <http://www.whitehouse.gov/fsbr/esbr.html>
Easy access to the latest economic indicators plus links to additional statistical information. A good place to begin for the latest basic data.
National Trade Data Bank w/ STAT-USA (Belmont subscription database)
Provides current economic data and news through "State of the Nation." Data are available daily within minutes of release by the agency.
Survey of Current Business <http://www.bea.doc.gov/bea/pubs.htm>
From the U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis, an important monthly source of current business statistics--national, international, and regional--including general business and economic indicators, employment and earnings, foreign trade, and industry.
Economic Overviews & Analysis
Current Economic Conditions ("The Beige Book") <http://www.federalreserve.gov/FOMC/BeigeBook/2005/>
Commentary on the U.S. economy with information on current conditions in each of the 12 Federal Reserve districts. Comment is drawn from a variety of business contacts and economic segments such as consumer spending, wages and employment, banking and finance, manufacturing, construction, etc. are discussed.
Economic Report of the President <http://www.gpoaccess.gov/eop/>
Also Ref HC106.6.A272
This annual economic review, prepared by the U. S. Council of Economic Advisors, contains an appendix of major economic indicators.
Treasury Bulletin <http://www.fms.treas.gov/bulletin/>
Each issue of this publication of the Treasury Department's Financial Management Service begins with a 4-5 page summary of nation's economic status and conditions.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Economics Basics. Ref HB171.E269 1999
Encyclopedia of American economic history. Ref HC103.E52
Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. Ref HC15.O94 2003
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics. Ref
HB61 .N49 1987
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics & the Law. Ref
K487.E3 N48 1998
New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance. Ref
HG151 .N48 1992
Internet Gateways
EconData.net <http://www.econdata.net/>
Designed to help data users gain access to state socioeconomic data. Aims to be a convenient, comprehensive first stop for anyone searching public and private data sources on the Web.
FreeLunch.com <http://www.economy.com/freelunch/default.asp>
A portal for economic data and forecasts; FreeLunch provides data free of charge if you register.
NetEc <http://netec.wustl.edu/>
An umbrella effort to organize information of interest to economists on the web. Includes links to collections of working papers, to economics journals, to economics departments at universities and research centers, and a wide variety of economics web resources.
Resources of Interest to Economists <http://rfe.org/>
A lengthy, comprehensive list of Internet sites useful to academic and practicing economists sponsored by the American Economic Association.
Webec: WWW Resources in Economics <http://netec.wustl.edu/WebEc/WebEc.html>
Presents economic data and research that is of interest to academic economists. Arranged in more than 20 broad categories similar to those used by the Journal of Economic Literature.
Locating Articles
ABI/Inform (ProQuest) (Belmont subsription database)
Index to and some full-text of selected journal and magazine articles in the field of business.
Business File ASAP (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.
Business File International (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.
LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subsription database)
Search both the News and the Business sections of this database for the full text of articles from a variety of sources about U.S. corporations.
