Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections

English Subject Guide

Check out the English Department's Writing Center for additional resources!

Databases

JSTOR
MLA Bibliography
Literature Resource Center (TEL)
Project Muse
ProQuest

Gale's Literary Index
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford Reference Online

 

Selected Reference Works

Literary Criticism & Author Biographies

Contemporary Authors   Ref Z 1224 .C63    Multiple volumes. Cumulative author index is at the end of the set.

Contemporary Literary Criticism   Ref PN 771 .C59    Multiple volumes. Use for authors who are living or who have died since 1959. Cumulative author, title, and topic index is at the end of the last volume in the set. Contains excerpts from articles and books and full citations for further reading.

Dictionary of Literary Biography   Ref PN 451 .D54    A good starting point for information on authors and their works. Each volume specializes in a genre and time period. Use cumulative author index at end of the last volume.

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism   Ref PN 761 .N5    Authors who died between 1800 and 1899.

Masterplots: American Fiction Series   Ref PN 44 .M32 2000

Masterplots: Drama   Ref PN 44. M38 1990

Masterplots: Poetry   Ref PN 44 .M37 1992

Masterplots: Short Story Series   Ref PN 44 .M27 1986

Masterplots: Women's Literature   Ref PN 44 .M39 1995

Literature Reviews

Book Review Digest (1920-current)   Ref Z 1219 .C95
Magill's Literary Annual (1977-2004)   Ref PN 44. M311

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters   Ref PN 44 .M3 1998
Oxford English Dictionary   Ref PE 1625 .M7
Encyclopedia of World Literature   Ref PN 771 .E5 1999

LC Call Numbers

P--Language & Literature

Selected Websites

Bartleby.com (online literature reference books)
Internet Public Library - Literary Criticism
Literary Resources on the Net
The Shakepeare Web

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782