Entertainment & Music Business
| Databases | Associations & Organizations |
| Selected Reference Works | Statistics & Analysis |
| Company Directories & Rankings | Careers & Networking |
| Trade Journals |
Databases
ABI Inform (ProQuest)
AES Online Electronic Library
Expanded Academic ASAP (TEL)
Hollywood Reporter, ESQ (requires username and password, click for more information)
IIMP (International Index to Music Periodicals)
LexisNexis Academic Universe
Music Index Online
Public Domain Music
Selected Reference Works
Billboard Guide to Music Publicity ML3790 .P47 1989
Billboard's International Talent & Touring Directory Ref ML1 .B51355
This Business of Music Ref ML3790 .S5 1995
Career Opportunities in the Music Industry Ref ML3795 .F497 2004
A Music Business Primer ML3790 .R38 2003
Musician's Business & Legal Guide Ref ML3790 .M84 2001
Recording Industry Sourcebook Ref ML18 .R4
Song Writer's Market Ref ML102.P66 S63
Company Directories & Rankings
Billboard. International Buyer's Guide (Ref ML18 .B5)
BPI Communications, published annually
Record labels, audio book publishers, music publishers, video studios, wholesalers and distributors, equipment manufacturers, associations, and organizations are compiled in this directory.
Billboard's International Talent & Touring Directory (Ref ML1 .B51355)
Billboard Publications, published annually
Lists performing artists as well as managers/agents, tour venues and services, tour merchandisers, and facility equipment managers. European and international companies are in separate sections, divided by country.
Trade Journals
BigChampagne.com
Daily "must read" for the music industry. It identifies the most downloaded songs on file-sharing sites, giving industry executives information on hot artists and trends.
Billboard
click for available print and electronic issues
Billboard is also available online at billboard.biz
Music Week
click for available print and electronic issues
Music Trades
click for available electronic issues
Associations & Organizations
American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP)
International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (IFPI)
Represents more than 1,300 record producers and distributors. Activities cover anti-piracy, new technologies, promoting national legislation and international conventions, and education and advocacy. The Web site includes access to the IFPI Network Newsletter and their annual global piracy report.
Content Delivery and Storage Association (formerly IRMA, the International Recording Media Association)
National Association of Recording Merchandisers (NARM)
Serves as advocate for the common interests of merchandisers and distributors of music, sell-through video and entertainment software, industry, and public policy makers.
National Music Publishers' Association (NMPA)
Represents more than 600 American music publishers on questions of music copyright and licensing. The Web site includes an online newsletter, information on relevant legislation, and statistics. The site is also home to the Harry Fox Agency, Inc. (HFA), an information source, clearinghouse, and monitoring service for licensing musical copyrights.
Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA)
Aims to protect intellectual property rights and the First Amendment rights of artists. The Web site includes extensive information on technology, legislation, censorship, piracy, Web licensing, and international trade.
Tip: The Research and Data section of the Web site is rich with market data available in pdf format including "Annual Manufactures' Unit Shipments," "Cost of a CD," (description of what is involved in producing a CD), as well "Annual Consumer Purchasing Trends."
Statistics & Analysis
National Association of Recording Merchandisers: Research & Statistics
Annual surveys of music sales, as well statistical profiles of music consumers, retailers, and other players in the merchandising of recorded music.
Recording Industry Association of America: Research and Data
Statistical summaries on U.S. and worldwide record sales, and consumers of recorded music, marketing reports, and consumer trends.
Columbia Law School Music Plagiarism Project: Provides documents associated with and analysis of music copyright infringement cases in the United States.
Careers & Networking
Showbizjobs.com
Postings from major entertainment companies such as Paramount, MTV Networks, and EMI Music Marketing. While many of the jobs posted are not geared to MBAs and don't require graduate-level education, there are some jobs that are relevant.
