Entrepreneurship & Small Business
Back to Business
Business Plans
Bplans.com
Foremost among the information provided here are sample business plans for many kinds of business; also sample marketing and web site plans. Expert advice, articles, etc. also found here.
Business Plans Handbook : a compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America . Ref HD62.7.B865 2006
Preparing a Business Plan
From the British Columbia Business Service Centre, an outline of what to include in a standard business plan, how to approach lenders and how to attract investors.
SBA Business Plans Basics
From the U.S. Small Business Administration, a review of the steps involved in preparing a business plan, an outline of content, and sample plans to review. Also covers financing,marketing, employees, taxes, and legal aspects. Includes section with special tips for women entrepreneurs.
Financial Assistance
BusinessFinance.com
Bills itself as America's business funding directory with over 3600 business loan and venture capital sources.
VFinance.com
A global portal for companies in need of capital and private investors with a separate section for entrepreneurs that includes a lengthy list of links to venture capital firms, help with business plans, going public, obtaining a business loan, etc.
Franchises
Franchising.com
Bills itself as the world's most comprehensive directory of franchising opportunities, featuring over 5,300 listings with links to websites and email addresses. Listing arranged alphabetically, by category or country, and by investment level.
FranchiseWorks.com
A directory of franchise opportunities with additional information on businesses for sale, trade shows, financing, and more.
Internet Gateways
SBA Hotlist
The U.S. Small Business Administration's links to sites of interest to entrepreneurs and small business. Includes patents, contracts, venture capital, state government, etc.
Small Business Portal
For anyone seeking information related to enterprise development, business and international trade, provides a gateway to websites for micro, small and medium scale enterprises, cooperatives, and community economic development, both in developed and developing countries.
Top of page
Small Business Advisors
AllBusiness
This site has nearly 1,500 articles on issues essential to running a business, over 200 business forms and agreements, calculators for estimating costs, checklists for decisions, and information in a variety of categories including human resources, insurance, legal, etc.
Business.gov
Created for the small business owner, this site brings together information from over 40 federal agencies covering business development, financial assistance, laws and regulations, international trade, workplace issues, buying and selling, taxes, etc.
The Edward Lowe Foundation
Focusing on entrepreneurship, the Lowe Foundation web page is home to Peerspectives , a magazine devoted to free enterprise; an extensive fulltext collection of online publications on small business in a Digital Library; and a large collection of small business Web links.
Entreworld.org
From the Kauffman Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership, a premier online resource for small business owners that centralizes access to over 1000 important entrepreneurial resources on the web, combines this with their own quality content, and makes it all easy to find. Also has an e-mail link to obtain insights from SCORE volunteers.
SCORE: Counselors to America's Small Business
The Service Corps of Retired Executives (SCORE) works in cooperation with the U.S. Small Business Administration to advise and assist small business. See especially their valuable list of links to additional small business information on the web.
Tennessee Small Business Development Center
TSBDC offers free assistance to help Tennessee business owners develop successful businesses. Their web page has a description of their services, an entrepreneur's manual, links to additional web resources and more.
U.S. Small Business Administration
One of the top spots for information on starting and running a small business. Browse the site map for an indication of the topics covered by the SBA in starting, financing, and expanding a business.
Top of page
Locating Articles
Business Source Premier
The industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,150 journals. Full text is provided back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.
General Business File ASAP (TEL)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.
General Business File International (TEL)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.
LexisNexis Academic
Search both the News and the Business sections of this database for the full text of articles from a variety of sources about U.S. corporations.
ProQuest Entrepreneurship
Search worldwide publications and multi-media related to the topic of Entrepreneurship. Intended to bridge theory with practice, the Entrepreneurship database covers a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans, and tips from successful entrepreneurs.
Small Business Collection
Perfect for business schools and entrepreneurs, this compilation provides insights, tips, strategies and success stories
Top of page |