Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections

Business Subject Guide

Back to Business

Industries

 

Directories & Guides Industry Statistics
Industry Product Codes Locating Articles
Industry Overviews Locating books-CUB Cat
Industry Rankings Industry Analysis Resource List

 

Directories & Guides

Encyclopedia of Associations. Ref HS17 .G334
An annual guide to national organizations in the U.S., including the trade and industry associations that are major contacts for industry statistics and other information. Each association listing includes address, telephone, email, membership and budget data, purpose, publications, annual meeting date, etc. for the association.

Gateway to Associations <http://www.asaecenter.org/Directories/AssociationSearch.cfm>
From the American Society of Association Executives, links to over 6000 associations with a web presence. Most are trade associations and many include useful statistical and other data on their web sites.

National trade and professional associations of the United States. Ref HD2425.D53
Lists professional societies, trade organizations and labor unions with address and contact information; membership, budget and dues; an historical note; list of publications, and meeting dates.

Top of Page

Industry Product Codes

North American Industry Classification System Ref HF1041.5 .N35 2000
A joint effort of the U.S., Canada, and Mexico that replaces the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes previously used to classify business information by product or service. Also available electronically as NAICS Online <http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html> with comparability tables to aid in the transition from the SIC's to the NAICS's.

Standard Industrial Classification Manual Ref HF1041.U613
Used by the U.S. government and by many business publications to classify business information according to industry, product, or service. A searchable index <http://www.osha.gov/oshstats/sicser.html> of the 1987 version of the codes is available online.

 

 

Industry Overviews

Business.com <http://www.business.com/>
Provides thousands of links to company websites and industry associations.

Current Industrial Reports <http://www.census.gov/cir/www/alpha.html>
From the Bureau of the Census, annual data on production and shipments of various products.

Encyclopedia of American Industries. Ref HC102.E53 2005
Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of idustries in every realm of American business. Arranged numerically by SIC code.

Industry Research desk <http://www.virtualpet.com/industry/mfg/mfg.htm>
A list of links to industry related information sources in a variety of product categories

Industrylink <http://www.industrylink.com/>
Concentrating on traditional heavy industry, oil, chemicals, and technology, this web site has hundreds of links for about 25 broad categories.

Manufacturing & Distribution USA Ref HD 9721.M3495
An overview of US manufacturing, this work provides industry analyses, statistics, and leading company information.

Value Line Investment Survey
a comprehensive source of information on approximately 1,700 stocks, more than 90 industries, the stock market, and the economy. Has 3 parts:

The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. For detailed information, please click on EDUCATION and go to either "How to Invest in Common Stocks" or the "Quick Study Guide."

The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep investors informed about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics.

The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics

Top of Page

 

Industry Rankings

Market Share Reporter Ref HF 5410.M35 2006
Compilation of market share data from a variety of periodicals for brands, products, and companies in North America. Arranged by industry categories with indexes for subjects, names, and sources.

 

Industry Statistics

County Business Patterns <http://www.census.gov/epcd/cbp/view/cbpview.html>
Shows annual data by industry sector for the U.S., all states, and all counties. Among the items available are employment, annual and first quarter payroll, total establishments, and number of establishments by employment size.

Current Industrial Reports <http://www.census.gov/cir/www/alpha.html>
From the Bureau of the Census, annual data on production and shipments of various products.

Economic Census <http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/econ97.html>
Every 5 years the nation's businesses are counted and data is presented by industry category and geographically. Generally covers the number and size of establishments, sales, payroll, and number of employees by industry category.

LexisNexis Statistical (Belmont subscription database)
LexisNexis Statistical enables easy access to statistics produced by the U.S. government, major international intergovernmental organizations, professional and trade organizations, commercial publishers, independent research organizations, state government agencies, and universities.

Statistical Abstract of the US <http://www.census.gov/statab/www/>
Probably the best general source of statistical information, this annual publication contains data from both the federal government and many private organizations. If you need additional data, check the table footnotes for source publications where more information can be found.

 

Top of page

Locating Articles

ABI/Inform (ProQuest) (Belmont subsription database)
Index to and some full-text of selected journal and magazine articles in the field of business.

Business File ASAP (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.

Business File International (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.

LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subsription database)
Search both the News and the Business sections of this database for the full text of articles from a variety of sources about U.S. corporations.

 

Top of page

   

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782