Bunch Library Home
Belmont University HomepageConnect to BICAsk for help
 
Search CUB Cat Reference Library Services Subject guides About the Library
Reference
Special Collections

Business Subject Guide

Back to Business

Marketing & Advertising

 

Advertising Expenditures Guides & Internet Gateways
Agency & Client Directories Rankings & Market Share
Brands & Products Locating Articles
Demographics & Consumer Buying Power Locating books-CUB Cat
   U.S. Government Sources  
   Non-official sources  

 

Advertising Expenditures

Ad Age Data Center <http://www.adage.com/datacenter.cms>
A collection of advertising data and rankings drawn from Advertising Age , the industry trade journal. Covers brands, advertisers, and the industry.

Standard Directory of Advertisers Ref HF5805.S7
Lists about 20,000 companies, both public and private, that allocate funding for national and regional advertising campaigns. Identifies the advertising agency used and may include amount spent and the media used by each company. Note: 1996 most current.

 

Agent & Client Directories

Green Book: International Directory of Marketing Research & Services <http://www.greenbook.org/>
Profiles marketing research agencies in the U.S. and abroad and the services and facilities available from each. Search by location, research services, research specialty, computer programs used, etc.

Standard Directory of Advertisers Ref HF5805.S7
Lists about 20,000 companies, both public and private, that allocate funding for national and regional advertising campaigns. Identifies the advertising agency used and may include amount spent and the media used by each company. Note: 1996 most current.

Standard Directory of Advertising Agencies Ref HF5805.S781
Lists over 4000 agencies, noting top personnel, major accounts, total approximate annual billings, and media types used. Also provides a geographic index and a Special Market Index for agencies specializing in specific markets. Often referred to as the " Red Book ." Note: 1996 most current.

Top of Page

 

Brands & Products

Ad*Access, 1911-1955 <http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/adaccess>
Images and information on advertisements from U.S. newspapers and magazines dated 1911-1955. Arranged in five categories: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

ConsumerSearch.com <http://www.consumersearch.com/www/>
For products in a dozen broad categories, ConsumerSearch offers summaries of reviews found in a variety of publications, with web links where available; analysis of who the reviewers are and what they say; plus a list of the top-rated product brands according to the reviews.

ConsumerWorld <http://www.consumerworld.org/>
Hundreds of links to personal finance and consumer affairs Web sites, ranging from air travel and consumer credit to mortgage rates and product reviews.

Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920 <http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/eaa/>
Examples of advertising images and publications from 1850-1920. Focus is on tobacco, food, cameras, beauty and hygiene, and other consumer products.

Top of page

Demographics & Consumer Buying Power: From U.S. Government Sources

American FactFinder <http://factfinder.census.gov/>
Quick access to population, housing, and economic data from the current U.S. census presented as tables or maps. Data is available for states, counties, or cities.

Consumer Expenditure Surveys <http://www.bls.gov/cex/>
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, <http://stats.bls.gov/> the results of a quarterly and annual review of consumer spending presented in several broad categories.

County and city extra, 2005: annual metro, city, and county data book Net Library ebook (Also have 2004 edition in print Ref HA 203.C68 2004)
To access the ebook, search for the book title in NetLibrary, a Belmont subscription database.

FedStats <http://www.fedstats.gov/>
Quick access to statistics ranging from agriculture to wages, and produced by over 70 federal government agencies. Search by agency, subject, or keyword; browse the latest census figures for states and counties; or link to the Statistical Abstract of the United States

LexisNexis Statistical (Belmont subscription database)
Helps to identify publications containing specific statistical data from either the U.S. government or from trade and professional associations and state agencies.

Tennessee Statistical Abstract <http://cber.bus.utk.edu/tsa.htm> Also, Ref HA641.T43
Primary source of Tennessee statistics, it provides a demographic, social, economic, and industrial profile of the state and its counties.

U.S. Census Bureau Publications <http://www.census.gov/>
Links to all the publications of the U.S. Bureau of the Census, the source of the most reliable demographic, social, and economic data on the U.S. population.

Top of page

Demographics & Consumer Buying Power: From non-offical sources

ACCRA Cost of Living Index (Belmont subscription database)
A source of competitive price data for consumer goods and services in more than 300 cities across North America. For each area the data includes a composite index for housing, utilities, grocery items, transportation, health care, and miscellaneous goods and services.

The American Generation Series
  Baby Boom: Americans born from 1946-1964 Ref HF5415.33.U6 R877 2004
  Generation X: Americans born from 1965-1976 Ref HC110.C6 G46 2004
  Millennials: Americans born from 1977-1994 Ref HQ796 .M4797 2004
  Older Americans: A Changing Market Ref HQ1064.U5 O43 2004

American incomes : demographics of who has money Ref HC110.I5 R87 2005
A look at how much Americans have to spend. Tables include income trends, household, personal, and discretionary income, household income projections, spending and wealth, poverty trends, income and geography trends.

America's Top-Rated Cities Ref HA214.M43 2005
A guide to consumer markets covering 100 U.S. metropolitan markets and providing a mix of demographic, geographic, and lifestyle information. Helps in identifying customers, how they spend their time, and how they differ from other markets.

Community Sourcebook of ZIP Code Demographics Ref HA203.S68 2005
Provides data for residential zip code areas, noting for each area its composition in terms of population, households, families, race, age, income, and market potential for several broad product categories.

Top of page

 

Guides & Internet Gateways

Advertising Age <http://www.adage.com/>
The web edition of the major trade journal in the field includes access to recent articles, special reports, an international edition, and the Ad Age Dataplace-a collection of industry data and rankings.

Advertising media A to Z : the definitive resource for media planning, buying, and research Ref HF5826.5 .S848 2004

Advertising World <http://advertising.utexas.edu/world/>
The most extensive collection of advertising related links on the Web. Useful for both students and professionals as a gateway site.

KnowThis.com: The Marketing Virtual Library <http://www.knowthis.com/>
One of the most comprehensive lists of marketing links on the Web with topics of interest to consumers, academic researchers, and marketing professionals. Includes a section on Internet marketing.

Sales and Marketing Management Magazine <http://www.salesandmarketing.com/>
The web edition of this magazine for executives in sales, marketing and management has a selection of articles from the current issue and an archive of past issues. Check the Resources category for dozens of links to additional marketing web sites.

 

Rankings & Market Share

Ad Age Data Center <http://www.adage.com/datacenter.cms>
A collection of advertising data and rankings drawn from Advertising Age , the industry trade journal. Covers brands, advertisers, and the industry.

Market Share Reporter Ref HF5410.M35 (2005 edition on order)
Compilation of market share data from a variety of periodicals for brands, products, and companies in North America. Arranged by industry categories with indexes for subjects, names, and sources.

Top of page

 

Locating Articles

ABI/Inform (ProQuest) (Belmont subsription database)
Index to and some full-text of selected journal and magazine articles in the field of business.

Business File ASAP (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.

Business File International (TEL) (Belmont subsription database)
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Some full-text available.

LexisNexis Academic (Belmont subsription database)
Search both the News and the Business sections of this database for the full text of articles from a variety of sources about U.S. corporations.

 

Top of page

   

Belmont University
Lila D. Bunch Library
1900 Belmont Blvd.
(615) 460-6782